Let us know about
a "star" employee:

Thanks Program
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Resources  |  Make A Gift

Neurology News

Louis Ptáček has received the prestigious Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award from the American Society for Clinical Investigation, in recognition of his research leading to the development of the field of ion channel defects, commonly known as channelopathies.

UC President Janet Napolitano has approved the appointment of Dan Lowenstein, MD, as the next Executive Vice-Chancellor and Provost.at UCSF. Dr. Lowenstein will collaborate with Chancellor Hawgood and other leaders to develop and implement campus priorities across our mission areas of research, education, and patient care. He will remain an integral part of the Department of Neurology and the Epilepsy Division, and Dr. Paul Garcia has agreed to serve as Interim Division Chief of Epilepsy during the transition.

The new Pediatric Brain Center at the UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital integrates neurology, neurosurgery, physical and occupational therapy, speech, social work and neuropsychology to provide seamless holistic care for patients’ full range of brain-related needs. It’s one of just a few specialized pediatric brain centers in the U.S.

Dena Dubal, MD, PhD was given the 2014 Glenn Award for Research in Biological Mechanisms of Aging by the president of the Glenn Foundation. This award provides unsolicited funds to researchers investigating the biology of aging. Recipients are selected by an anonymous scientific advisory committee.

Faculty & Staff Links
Help us fund research
that is changing lives