Recent Honors & Awards


The following Neurology faculty were given the Redefining Possible Award from UCSF Health at their Evening of Honors and Awards for the West Bay:

Robert Knowlton, MD
Vikram Rao, MD, PhD
Paul Garcia, MD

Nerissa Ko, MD, MAS has been honored with the Chancellor Award for Diversity in recognition of her  outstanding efforts for the advancement of women at UCSF.

Steven J. Holtz, MD has been selected by the Volunteer Clinical Faculty Advisory Board at UCSF School of Medicine as a recipient of the 2018 Special Recognition Teaching Award in recognition of his excellence in teaching, and significant contributions in the field of medicine. 

Ying-Hui Fu, PhD has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors accorded to an American scientist.

Michael Wilson, MD has been selected as the recipient of the Grass Foundation – ANA Award in Neuroscience. As the recipient, he will be asked to present at the ANA’s Annual Meeting in October 2018.

Drs. Cathy Lomen-Hoerth and Alexandra Brown have been accepted into the Teaching Scholars Program (TSP) for 2018-2019. They will join a small cadre of dedicated faculty members who share a passion for teaching, innovation and leadership in medical education.

Aimee Kao, MD, PhD has received the Glenn Award for Research on Biological Mechanisms of Aging. Nominations are made by an anonymous advisory committee.


The 2018 Staff Appreciation and Recognition (STAR) Plan has granted Achievement Awards to the following members of our staff:

Rudy Asuncion
Andrew Barnecut
Natalia Browne
Christopher Jehle
Peili Lee
Christina Liu
Caroline Prioleau 
Adam Santaniello
Iris Solorzano
Sonia Tsoi 
Edward Wahyu

The following staff have received SPOT Awards:

Sarah Corr
Catharine Freyer
Carey Herman
Karen Louie
Thomsas McMahon
Lani Pettersen
Michael Schaffer
Fonda Smith
Nu Truong
Ricky Yee
Karla Zurita



Cathra Halabi, MD, Vascular Neurology Fellow, has received the Teaching Excellence Award for Cherished Housestaff (TEACH). Every year, the graduating medical school class presents the TEACH award to five residents or fellows who have been outstanding teachers, mentors, and role models to medical students during their clinical years at UCSF.

Frances Cho, a neuroscience graduate student in the laboratory of Dr. Jeanne Paz, has received the UCSF Discovery Fellowship. The extraordinary Discovery Fellows Program was made possible by a generous gift from Sir Michael Moritz, and his wife, Harriet Heyman. 

Sara LaHue, MD, Resident in Neurology, has received the Newman Award from the San Francisco Neurological Society. She will present her winning paper, "Association Between Inpatient Delirium and Hospital Readmission," at the upcoming 70th Annual Meeting of the San Francisco Neurological Society.