Neuromuscular Disorders
Catherine Lomen-Hoerth, MD, PhD - Division Chief

Clinical Care

The ALS Center at UCSF is unequaled in scientific quality, clinical breadth and depth, compassionate, professionally advanced care and the aggressive development and application of new, effective treatments. The ALS Center is certified by the ALS Association as a Center of Excellence.

More information here.

The Brachial Neuritis Center is the first program in the United States to offer comprehensive care for patients with brachial neuritis, a type of peripheral neuropathy.

Conditions Treated 

Neuromuscular Disorders
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
Brachial Neuritis
Guillain-Barre syndrome and other neuropathies
Myasthenia gravis
Muscle diseases

UCSF's Neuromuscular Clinic has been recognized as a Certified Duchenne Care Center — signifying a center that provides high-quality, comprehensive care for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy — by Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy.

Maria Jekielek, MD and Clayton Buback, MD, Neuromuscular Fellows
Neuromuscular Fellows:
Maria Jekielek, MD and Clayton Buback, MD


ASK ME: Hard Questions Answered about Living with ALS, with Catherine Lomen-Hoerth MD, PhD.

Best Practices in Establishing a Telemedicine Practice in Neuromuscular Disease
(available on demand; registration required).

Best Practices in Incorporating Preceptorship into your Neuromuscular Disease Practice
(available on demand; registration required).


Clinical Research Coordinators

Hannah George, MS
Reshma Kolala
Neha Madugala



Priya Dhawan MD
Jill Goslinga, MD, MPH
Viktoriya Irodenko, MD 
Cathy Lomen-Hoerth, MD, PhD
Pritikanta Paul, MD
Ann Poncelet, MD 
Jeffrey Ralph, MD
Laura Rosow, MD
Paul Sampognaro, MD
Mark Terrelonge, Jr. MD, MPH
Madina Tugizova, MD


Cathy Lomen-Hoerth, MD, PhD was inducted into the UCSF Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (AΩA) in recognition of her outstanding commitment to professionalism, leadership, scholarship, research, and community service. 

Ann Poncelet, MD has received the Frank A. Rubino Award for Excellence in Clinical Neurology Teaching, given by the American Academy of Neurology.  

Mark Terrelonge, Jr., MD, MPH was elected to the UCSF Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society by our medical students in recognition of his dedication to the profession and art of healing. He is a current recipient of the Watson Scholar Award.